| Home | About | Events | Pictures |

Jan M. Rabaey

Jan Rabaey received his Ph.D degree in applied sciences from the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium. After being connected to UC Berkeley as a Visiting Research Engineer, he was a research manager at IMEC, Belgium. In 1987, he joined the faculty of the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science department of the University of California, Berkeley, where he now holds the Donald O. Pederson Distinguished Professorship. He is currently the scientific co-director of the Berkeley Wireless Research Center (BWRC), as well as the director of the FCRP Multiscale Systems Center (MuSyC).

He is the recipient of a wide range of awards, amongst which are IEEE Fellow, the 2008 IEEE CAS Society Mac Van Valkenburg Award, and the 2009 European Design Automation Association (EDAA) Lifetime Achievement award. In 2010, he was awarded the prestigious Semiconductor Industry Association (SIA) University Researcher Award.

His research interests include the conception and implementation of next-generation integrated wireless systems.

Bernhard Boser

Prof. Bernhard E. Boser received the Diploma in Electrical Engineering from the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in 1984 and the M.S. and Ph.D. from Stanford University in 1985 and 1988. From 1988 he was a Member of Technical Staff in the Adaptive Systems Department at AT&T Bell Laboratories. In 1992 he joined the faculty in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences at the University of California, Berkeley where he also serves as a Director of the Berkeley Sensor & Actuator Center. Dr. Boser's research is in the area of analog and mixed signal circuits, with special emphasis on analog-digital interface circuits and micromechanical sensors and actuators. He has served on the program committees of the International Solid-State Circuits Conference, the Transducers Conference, the VLSI Symposium, and the Sensor and Actuator Workshop. He was the Editor of the IEEE Journal of Solid-State Circuits, served as the Chair of the Publications Committee, and is currently the President of the Solid-State Circuits Society. Dr. Boser is a Fellow of the IEEE and a distinguished lecturer of the SSCS. In 2004 he co-founded SiTime and in 2005/06 he was a visiting professor at the Institute of Micro- and Nanosystems at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich.

Bjorn Hartmann

Bjorn Hartmann is an Assistant Professor in EECS. He received a BA in Communication, BSE in Digital Media Design, and MSE in Computer and Information Science from the University of Pennsylvania in 2002. He received his PhD degree in Computer Science from Stanford University in 2009. His research in Human-Computer Interaction focuses on on the creation and evaluation of user interface design tools, end-user programming environments, and crowdsourcing systems.

John Kubiatowicz

He received a double B.S. in Electrical Engineering and Physics, 1987, M.S. in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, 1993, and a PhD in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. Minor in Physics, 1998, all from M.I.T.

He joined the faculty of EECS at UC Berkeley in 1998. Current research includes exploring the design of extremely-wide area storage utilities and developing secure protocols and routing infrastructures that provide privacy, security, and resistance to denial of service, while still allowing the caching of data anywhere, anytime. Also, exploring the space of Introspective Computing, namely systems which perform continuous, on-line adaptation. Applications include on-chip tolerance of flaky components and continuous optimization to adapt to server failures and denial of service attacks.

Honors and awards include the Diane S. McEntyre Award for Excellence in Teaching, 2003, Scientific American 50, 2002, MoundsView High School Distinguished Alumni Award, 2001, Berkeley IT Award for Excellence in Undergraduate CS Teaching, 2000, Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), 2000, George M. Sprowls Award for best PhD thesis in EECS at MIT, 1998, IBM Graduate Fellowship, 1992 -1994, and Best Paper, International Conference on Supercomputing, 1993.

Edward A. Lee

Edward A. Lee is the Robert S. Pepper Distinguished Professor and former chair of the Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences (EECS) department at U.C. Berkeley. His research interests center on design, modeling, and simulation of embedded, real-time computational systems.

He is a director of Chess, the Berkeley Center for Hybrid and Embedded Software Systems, and is the director of the Berkeley Ptolemy project. He is co-author of five books and numerous papers. He has led the development of several influential open-source software packages, notably Ptolemy and its various spinoffs. His bachelors degree (B.S.) is from Yale University (1979), his masters (S.M.) from MIT (1981), and his Ph.D. from U. C. Berkeley (1986). From 1979 to 1982 he was a member of technical staff at Bell Telephone Laboratories in Holmdel, New Jersey, in the Advanced Data Communications Laboratory. He is a co-founder of BDTI, Inc., where he is currently a Senior Technical Advisor, and has consulted for a number of other companies. He is a Fellow of the IEEE, was an NSF Presidential Young Investigator, and won the 1997 Frederick Emmons Terman Award for Engineering Education.

Kristofer Pister

Professor Kris Pister received a B.A. in Applied Physics from UC San Diego in 1986 and a M.S. and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from UC Berkeley in 1989 and 1992, respectively. He taught in the Electrical Engineering Department at UCLA prior to joining the faculty at UC Berkeley in 1996. He is currently a professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences at Berkeley as well as founder and current CTO of Dust Networks, a company commercializing the Smart Dust concept. Dr. Pister is known for his academic work on Microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) and their simulation (the SUGAR MEMS simulator), his work on Smart Dust, and his membership in the JASON Defense Advisory Group.

Claire Tomlin

Professor Claire Tomlin graduated from the University of Waterloo with a B.A.Sc. in 1992, from Imperial College London with a M.Sc. in 1993, and from the University of California, Berkeley with a PhD in 1998. She currently holds a joint appointment as an associate professor in the Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics and the Department of Electrical Engineering at Stanford University, where she is director of the Hybrid Systems Laboratory, and as an associate professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at University of California, Berkeley. Her research focuses on applications, unmanned aerial vehicles, air traffic control and modeling of biological processes. In 2003, she was named to the MIT Technology Review TR100 as one of the top 100 innovators in the world under the age of 35. She was named a MacArthur Fellow in September 2006.